2021 Honors & Awards

Congratulations to the 2021 Winners of IoPP’s Member Honors and Awards

IoPP congratulates the 2021 winners of IoPP’s Member Honors and Awards. This year’s winners are distinguished IoPP members who have volunteered time to the Institute over an extended period and deserve recognition.

This year, IoPP recognizes the contributions of three members with the 2021 College of Fellows Member Award.

College of Fellows Member - The Board of Directors confers the College of Fellow Members as recognition for outstanding contributions and service to the field of packaging. No more than one Fellow for every 1,000 current members is approved by the Board in any one year. Such contributions and service should typify the knowledge, skills, and conduct of the dedicated professional. Each nominee must be a member in good standing for an uninterrupted period of at least fifteen (15) years and have a current designation of CPP.

The 2021 College of Fellows Member Awards go to:

Doug Compton, CPPL, Fellow, Global Packaging Development Leader, Owens Corning - Science & Technology; IoPP member since 2005

Doug Compton has been an active part of the Packaging Industry for well over two decades. As a leader within IoPP, Doug has served as President of the Central Ohio Chapter since 2012. Before that, he held other Board of Director positions, including Treasurer and Vice President.

Doug has been an integral part of the success of the Central Ohio Chapter. He is actively involved in organizing guest speakers of relevant content for the benefit of IoPP members. Most recently, in the fields of 3D Printing, Plastic Recycling, Packaging Design, and e-Commerce. 

Over the years, he also helped organize several tours of companies local to Central Ohio to further his Chapter's membership's growth, education, and network. Under his leadership, IoPP awarded the Central Ohio Chapter with the Chapter of the Year award in 2008 and 2012. The Central Ohio Chapter was also awarded the Gold Chapter of Excellence Award for both 2019 and 2020.

Doug is currently a member of IoPP's Technical Bag Committee. In February of 2021, the Packaging Digest highlighted his article "Waterproof Film Insulates Popular Insulation Brand."

Doug has been nominated for multiple Ameristar Packaging Awards and is a past recipient of the Flexible Packaging Association's Technical Innovation Award for package design.

Christopher DeJardin, CPPL, Fellow, Die Cutter Operator, Belmark Inc.; IoPP member since 2001

Christopher DeJardin graduated in 1996 from UW-Stout with a bachelor's degree in Industrial Technology, emphasis in Packaging.

As IoPP Fox Valley Chapter Publication Chair in 2002, Christopher implemented an e-mail newsletter to help the chapter save money and time. He helped steer the chapter toward awarding scholarships to students at the University of Wisconsin-Stout and Fox Valley Technical College’s Print, Package, and Label Program. 

Since 2009, he has been Regional Vice President for IoPP’s North Central Region.

Over the past 20 years, Christopher has held various chapter offices, including President, Past President, Vice President, Membership, Secretary, and Education-Certification. He currently serves on the UW-Stout Packaging Advisory Board and previously served on its Outreach Program Subcommittee, Capital Campaign Committee, and Alumni & Stewardship Committee.

He has won awards in the Paperboard Packaging Council (2000) and IoPP AmeriStar Awards (2010) competitions. He was named an IoPP Pi Alpha Kappa Honorary Society Award winner in 2003 and IoPP National Member of the Year in 2005.

Michael Vincent, CPPL, Fellow, Principal, Sustainable Package, LLC; IoPP member since 1985

Michael Vincent's packaging career has spanned four decades in technical, sourcing, sustainability, and consulting roles. He has mentored interns and entry-level packaging graduates from Michigan State University, San Jose State University, and California Polytechnic State University.

He holds six patents and was named Sealed Air Outstanding Senior Packaging Student at MSU, where he earned his BS in Packaging. Michael helped develop the Global Packaging Protocols, served on the ASTM Committee on Food Packaging from 1987-1989.

Michael is a Certified Packaging Professional, lifetime status, and supported the IoPP Golden Gate Chapter as Vice President of Programs from 1996-1998. He currently works as Principal at The Sustainable Package, LLC.

More information about our Member Honors and Awards Program can be found here.


IoPP Mentor Match

Connect with IoPP members for one-on-one IoPP focused mentorship!

For more details, visit our  FAQs or Mentor Match Community.


Training Opportunities in 2022

Fund of Packaging Technology
Sep 19-23, Oct 10-14
Packaging Machinery: Basics
Oct 3-5
e-Learning available 24/7


All original content © 2021 Institute of Packaging Professionals.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Procedures for Requesting Removal of Infringing Material