2023 Recipients

Congratulations to the 2023 IoPP Packaging Education Scholarship Fund Scholarship Winners!

The PepsiCo R&D Scholarship is a $5,000 scholarship awarded to one student in their Junior or Senior year, who is pursuing a degree in a course of study relevant to the packaging industry.

2023 Winner

Nikki Cavallaro
Rochester Institute of Technology

Nikki Cavallaro is an honors student at the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), majoring in packaging science and graduating in 2025. 

She is actively involved in organizations at RIT, including RIT's FoodShare Center, participating in the Letters Against Depression program, and fundraising for Hilton High School's drumline and marching band. She is a current member of RIT's Women in Engineering Technology program. 

Nikki is a student member of IoPP and participated in IoPP Southeastern Chapter's 2023 48HR Repack Student Design Competition.


The IoPP Packaging Education Scholarship is a $2,500 scholarship awarded to students pursuing a degree in the course of study relevant to the packaging industry. 

2023 Winner

Weston Cregger
North Carolina State University 

Weston Cregger is a North Carolina State University student, dual majoring in paper science and engineering & chemical engineering. 

He earned a Dean's List designation throughout his college career and, in 2022, received the Pulp and Paper Foundations Scholarship.

Weston is active in multiple campus intramural sports teams and volunteers on the weekends with his local YMCA Miracle League Baseball team. In the spring of 2023, he participated in the Paperboard Packaging Alliance Student Design Challenge, which aims to find paper-based replacements for plastic packaging in personal care products.


The IoPP Packaging Education Technical Committee of the Year Scholarship is a $2,500 scholarship awarded to students pursuing a degree in the course of study relevant to the packaging industry. 

The scholarship is awarded on behalf of IoPP's 2022 Technical Committee of the Year, the Medical Device Packaging Technical Committee

2023 Winner

Lia Grammer
Rochester Institute of Technology

Lia Grammar is a packaging science student at the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT). 

She has served as an executive board member and social media coordinator for the RIT IoPP Chapter and actively coordinates IoPP events with the school's packaging department. 

According to Lia, a career in packaging allows her to combine her love of design and engineering to help make an impact in the world. 


The IoPP Central Ohio Chapter participates in the IoPP Packaging Education Scholarship, awarding one student with a $1,000 scholarship.


2023 Winner

Laura Munday
Michigan State University

Laura Munday is an honors student at Michigan State University, working toward her degree in packaging science. 

A member of MSU's Coalition of Packaging Professionals and Academic Connections (CoPPAC), Laura organizes career fairs and workshops for the school's packaging department. She also volunteers in food and blanket drives and makes cards for children in local hospitals. 

Laura says she looks forward to her future as a professional packaging engineer. 

Special thanks to this year’s judges

  • Matt Culver, CPPL - Target Corp.
  • Susan Gruskin, CPPL – PepsiCo
  • Nicole Kandoth – General Mills
  • Amy Lee - Ecolab
  • Austin Liu - Johnson & Johnson, Surgical Vision
  • Molly Lynn, CPPL – Independent Packaging Consultant
  • Beth Pollock, CPPL - Abbott Nutrition
  • Amy Schupbach, CPPL – Fresenius Kabi
  • Amy Stewart – Printpack